top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Zimbo Mom

TO FATHER & BEING A FATHER

Biological, Adoptive, Spiritual


Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Twelve years ago, our father died. I was so heartbroken, felt lost, and thought that was the end of us. After seeing all those stories of children who stop going to school because the breadwinner has died, my imagination took me to that place...that was my perfect horror story then!!


But God’s way is not our way, and He had different plans for us.


After the passing of my dad, five more men took his place (No! mom didn’t get married 5 times … LOL…), my dad’s brothers and my babamukuru (tete’s husband) became the father I needed. Then a couple of years ago, I was blessed with 2 more fathers in my husband and my Father-In-Love (my husband’s dad).


So, God blessed me with seven fathers!!


Each of these men played and some are still playing unique, amazing and supportive roles in my being. (One of my fathers passed away a couple of years ago)


Long story cut short:


In life, I have learnt to appreciate that one doesn’t really need constant financial or material provisions for them to feel loved and cherished by their father, neither do they need biological ties to a particular person for that person to play a father role in their life.


Any male figure can do it. And that person doesn’t have to be materialistic to show his love for those children. It’s actually the simple things that matter most in life…


“Time is your most precious gift because you only have a set amount of it. You can make more money, but you can't make more time. When you give someone your time, you are giving them a portion of your life that you'll never get back. Your time is your life. That is why the greatest gift you can give someone is your time. It is not enough to just say relationships are important; we must prove it by investing time in them. Words alone are worthless. "My children, our love should not be just words and talk; it must be true love, which shows itself in action." Relationships take time and effort, and the best way to spell love is "T-I-M-E.” Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?


A simple text from a father (biological, adoptive, spiritual), is enough to brighten one’s day.

That 2-minute call, that ends mid-conversation because one has run out of credit, will leave a smile on one’s face.


The reprimands that come your way when you have done wrong, are a huge sign that someone out there, takes a moment to think of you and your well-being, and has your best interest at heart.


I know someone out there is not in talking terms with their father, and probably thinks their father is too over-protective; Cherish that man, whoever and wherever he is, because someone out there is longing for the chance to have that extra person. Someone just lost their father and they wish they had said “I love you”, and appreciated him enough times.


To that father figure out there, love your children purposefully, and unconditionally. Just like our Father God loves us unconditionally, and makes us feel loved and protected even when we cannot see Him… be that guy, who communicates with, protects, and cherishes his children (biological, adoptive, spiritual) constantly…


You form every child’s belief in the male figure to come in their lives forever.


HAPPY FATHER’S DAY TO ALL MEN!!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page